One week later…

It’s been exactly 7 days since I had the implant fitted.  So far, the only side effect I’ve had has been quite a bit of bruising around the insertion site.  As soon as it was fitted, I had slight swelling and bruising appeared within the first couple of hours.  I didn’t think to take any photos at the time, but I’ll see if I can find anything similar online to show you.  Again, this is a very individual reaction, as everyone’s body behaves differently to pressure.  I’ve just happened to have bruised like a peach!  It has happily gone down a fair bit and is now a rather nice shade of yellowy-green, rather than the blackish purple it was!  There is no pain around the insertion site, however I do have a slight scar where the incision was made.  This should fade over time.  It’s a bit creepy, but I can feel the implant when I press on it – reassuring in a way as at least I know it’s still there!  I had read online that people had horrible long, irregular periods almost straight away after having it fitted – I am pleased to say that I haven’t had a single sign of my period starting yet.  Neither have I had any peculiar mood swings (another nasty effect frequently referred to online).  For now, it’s all sweetness and light.

Over and out.

By the way, if you have any questions, ask me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

